How to Delete a User in QuickBooks Online

Written By

In this tutorial, I’ll show you how to delete a user from your QuickBooks Online account.

Quick Instructions:

  1. Click the gear in the upper right corner
  2. Click Manage Users
  3. Select the Users or Accounting Firms tab (depending on the type of user you’re deleting)
  4. Find the user in the list
  5. Click the drop-down arrow to the right
  6. Click Delete
  7. On the verification pop-up click Delete

Keep reading for a complete walkthrough with screenshots:

Delete a Standard User

From any page in QBO click on the gear in the upper right-hand corner.

Under YOUR COMPANY click on Manage users.

Manage users in the settings menu of QuickBooks Online

Make sure you’re in the Users tab.

In your list of users find the one you’d like to remove and on click the little down arrow to the right.

Delete a Standard User in QuickBooks Online

A drop-down will appear with the option “Delete.”

A pop-up will appear to verify that you actually want to delete the user.

Deleting a user verification pop-up in QuickBooks Online

Click the Delete button.

Delete an Accountant User

Make sure you’re in the Accounting firms tab and repeat the instructions for a Standard User.

Accounting Firms tab in QuickBooks Online Magage users section

Wow, that was easy! You now know how to delete users from your QuickBooks Online account.

☕ If you found this helpful you can say “thanks” by buying me a coffee… https://www.buymeacoffee.com/gentlefrog

Below is a video if you prefer to watch a walkthrough.

If you have any questions about adding users to QuickBooks Online click the green button below to schedule a free consultation.

Need some one on one QuickBooks assistance?
Share Now

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Read similar articles

How to Fix a Bill Payment Recorded as an Expense in QuickBooks Online

Learn how to fix a bill payment recorded as an expense in QuickBooks Online.